The European Commission said on October 27 that 22 further European islands have now published a clean energy transition agenda, with 7 others likely to follow in the near future. This has given a boost to the Clean energy for EU islands initiative.

EU Energy Commissioner Kadri Simson said carbon-neutral energy systems developed on an island scale may be replicated and scaled-up elsewhere. “This gives islands a unique potential to be trailblazers of the European Green Deal,” Simson told the Clean energy for EU islands online forum.

“These transition agendas are a testament to the hard work and fruitful collaborations among islanders, both within their communities and across borders. It has been truly inspiring to see what is possible when local people have the power and support to write their own futures. We look forward to continuing the cooperation with the EU island communities to make the European Green Deal a reality, both through this initiative and through other EU actions to support a locally-driven energy transition,” Simson said.

According to the Commission, the online forum provides a useful showcase for islands all around Europe to highlight what local actions they are already carrying out, or planning. Representatives from the EU institutions have also outlined the advantages of an EU framework for facilitating cooperation and spreading best practice. This week’s forum is the first large event with the EU Islands community after signature of the Memorandum of Split on June 14, 2020.

The following islands have now published a clean energy transition agenda: (Original six “pilot projects” announced last year) Aran Islands (Ireland), Cres-Losinj archipelago (Croatia), Culatra (Portugal), La Palma (Spain), Salina (Italy), and Sifnos (Greece);

(Confirmed in recent months, including this week) A Ilha de Arousa (Spain), Brač (Croatia), Cape Clear (Ireland), Halki (Greece), the Hvar Archipelago (Croatia), Ibiza (Spain), Île de Sein (France), Kasos (Greece), Korčula (Croatia), Kökar (Finland), Menorca (Spain), Molène and Ouessant, (France), Pantelleria (Italy), and Symi (Greece), and 7 off-grid Scottish islands – Eigg, Muck, Rum, Canna, Fair Isle and Foula, and the peninsula of Knoydart

(Intending to finalise and publish their transition agendas in the near future) The Azores (Portugal), Belle-Île (France), Crete (Greece), Hoedic and Houat (France), Mallorca (Spain), and Marie-Galante (France).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *